Important Ecumenical Councils through the High Middle Ages

- 1. First Council of Nicaea (325): Condemned Arius; said the Son was of the same substance (*homoousios*) as the Father; produced the Nicene Creed.
- First Council of Constantinople (381): Clarified and expanded Nicene Creed; proclaimed the divinity of the Holy Spirit, condemned Apollinaris.
- Council of Ephesus (431): Condemned Nestorius; called Mary the "Godbearer" (*theotokos*).
- Council of Chalcedon (451): Condemned Eutyches and monophysitism (one nature in Christ); proclaimed two natures, divine and human, in Christ, "without confusion, without mutability, without division, without separation."
- Second Council of Constantinople (553): Condemned the "Three Chapters" (Theodore of Mopsuestia, Theodoret of Cyrrhus, Ibas of Edessa).
- Third Council of Constantinople (680-681): Condemned Pope Honorius I and monotheletism (one will in Christ).
- Second Council of Nicaea (787): Condemned iconoclasts; promoted veneration, but not worship, of icons.
- 12. Fourth Lateran Council (1215): Declared doctrine of transubstantiation; condemned various people as heretics; proclaimed the primacy of the pope over other patriarchs of ancient sees; demanded confession and communion at least once per year; put restrictions on Jews and Muslims.